Helping You Down From the Pedestal…

30 Aug

bible3“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God” –Colossians 3:16 (ESV)

“In religion and politics, people’s beliefs and convictions are in almost every case gotten at second-hand, and without examination, from authorities who have not themselves examined the questions at issue, but have taken them at second-hand from other non-examiners, whose opinions about them were not worth a brass farthing.” –Mark Twain

“When leaders begin to thrill you more than Jesus, return your heart to Jesus. Listen to Him, watch Him, follow Him, for He alone brings living water to the desert of your life” –Pastor Koetsier, TACC Sermon Sunday, August 25.

Use discernment to determine if you are spending too much time with the speaker/author of the words and not enough time with the Word itself. 

Helping You Down From the Pedestal…

Posted by Gina Smith

Dear Christian authors, speakers and preachers,

I read your books and listen to you speak. You inspire me. I become a follower. Many have followed you. You have a lot of really good things to say. God is using you. Unfortunately,  I started to hold on to every word you said. I started to think you could say nothing wrong. I quoted you and promoted your writings.  In fact, it makes me feel quite “spiritual” when I mention that I love your writings and am in any way associated with your name. After all, you are highly respected, an “expert”…a theologian. You are, in many ways, a Christian celebrity.  Many would say you are their Christian hero.

Then I read something you said and I questioned it. In fact, I really didn’t agree with it. I studied my bible and found that what you said wasn’t completely biblical. I was shocked. I was disappointed. I shared it with someone and they defended you. How in the world could YOU be wrong?

I looked around and saw other people following you, reading your books, listening to you speak, agreeing with all you say, not wanting to see that you are human and that you are capable of error…

…and that all of us have a tendency to want to follow SOMEONE!

Then I sensed God telling me that I had been wrong to follow a person. That I had put too much stock in what you said. That even though you are godly, and are a gifted teacher and author, the only One that is without error is HIM.

I really don’t believe that you intend for people to follow you. You are very sincere in your attempts to present the truth. That is why I know you will not mind if I don’t agree with everything you write. I know you would want me to compare all you write and preach with the Word of God.

Even though I may not agree with everything you say…I promise that I won’t write you off. You still inspire me in many ways, and yet I will not hold you up as the ultimate authority anymore.

I know you wouldn’t want me to do that anyway.

I’m not disappointed anymore. I know you are only human. In fact, I have helped you climb down from the pedestal I put you on. I feel foolish and humbled for putting you there in the first place!

Sincerely,

Just another imperfect God follower who gets easily distracted by “what is seen” but who is trying to keep her eyes on the One who is not seen!

Acts 17:11 “Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true. ”

1 Corinthians 3:4 “For when one says, “I follow Paul,” and another, “I follow Apollos,” are you not mere men? What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe–as the Lord has assigned to each his task.”

Excerpted from: Real Life Titus 2: Helping You Down From the Pedestal….

Another article to consider: A Critical Mind vs. A Critical Spirit – Trevin Wax

Leave a Reply

