Keepin’ it Real: I Am a Vain Woman!

19 Jun

Old Mirror Standing Against Wall“And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” 2 Corinthians 3:18

The next time you find yourself leaning this way and that searching for the newest crinkles, wrinkles, or lines; seek instead the glory of God and the image of Christ.

From “The Key to My Book”:

“How beautiful are the arms, which have embraced Christ-the eyes which have gazed upon Christ, the lips which have spoken with Christ, the feet which have followed Christ.

How beautiful are the hands which have worked the works of Christ, the feet which are treading in His footsteps have gone about doing good, the lips which have spread abroad His Name, the lives which have been counted for Him.” Christina Rossetti

In His presence when we are a life poured out for Him (Philippians 2:17) we become a reflection of “the light of the world” (John 8:12) and that is beautiful.

I Am a Vain Woman

One evening I spent time online looking at pictures of the growing number of women in the public eye who have had botox injections or who are enduring all kinds of surgical procedures, attempting to look younger.   Feeling quite disgusted with the whole mentality,  I called my husband over to look at some of the pictures with me: one image after another of actresses, comedians,  fitness experts, and wives of famous actors.

“How can they do that?” I asked,  “It doesn’t look natural, and it doesn’t really look that good! Most of them have very little expression, and they look swollen!”  As I sat there looking at the photos, I judged them! In my heart I labeled them as

  • prideful,
  • full of themselves,
  • women who don’t want to look their age,
  • women who go to great extremes to look good.

God, grieved by my sinful and judgmental attitude, violently grabbed the corner of a veil and ripped it away exposing my heart.  As clear as day, I could see the very characteristics that I had attributed to those women.  I saw that my heart is full of pride, that I am full of myself, that I am a woman who does not want to look her age, and that I will go to extremes to look good. Indeed, I am no different than these women.

The remainder can be viewed here: Keepin’ it Real: I Am a Vain Woman.

2 Responses to “Keepin’ it Real: I Am a Vain Woman!”

  1. Kris June 25, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    It wasn’t so long ago that I realized that the things I criticize the most vehemently in others are the very things I am fearful will hold sway in my being. I think this happens when I am vigilantly trying to keep a sin I know I am susceptible to far away from me. Since I am hyper-sensitive to cues that might suggest its presence I unfortunately, also see those same cues quickly in others and have a quick reaction to judge that cue, and those possessing it, for not seeing the same thing I see….sin in them….and myself.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Latest from our Women’s Blog | Keepin’ it Real: I Am a Vain Woman! | Taft Avenue Community Church - June 19, 2013

    […] Click here for more:  Keepin’ it Real: I Am a Vain Woman!. […]

Leave a Reply

