Love that Heals | Reaching Out to Our Neighbors in Love

19 May

C_Neighbor-320x171

What if you have it all wrong and the grumpy neighbor on your block is really you? What if you discovered the conclusion you had drawn about your neighbor was incorrect? How would you ever discover these truths without reaching out to your neighbors in a purposeful and loving way. The only true way to find out about someone is by listening and the only way to get that opportunity is through interaction. Develop a passion for the lost and love your neighbor by building a relationship with them.

“Each of us should please our neighbors for their good, to build them up.” Romans 15:2

Love that Heals

What does it mean to love my neighbor as myself?

One rainy Saturday, I stared out the kitchen window as I washed dishes. Another wave of tornadoes had ravaged small towns across the nation. The news was filled with dramatic stories, and I was weary. Weary of disasters, devastation, and more tears. Weary of the conflict that will not be resolved this side of heaven.

What does the Bible require me to do about this? To love God with all my heart, soul, strength, and mind, and to love my neighbor as myself (Luke 10:27). This is much easier said than done. The legalist inside of me answers back: But how many? How many do I have to help? Who is my neighbor? And just like the lawyer who asked Jesus who exactly his neighbor was (Luke 10:29), the legalist was given a story.

What comes to your mind when you hear the word neighbor? A grumpy man who complains about kids on his lawn? Fun friends who share a meal? Partiers who block your driveway? Nameless people who move in and out? The question “Who is my neighbor?” for us today might be something more like “Who is my family?” We know we have intimate and invasive obligations to our moms and dads, brothers and sisters, spouses, and children. Yet in the story of the Good Samaritan, Jesus is telling us that we, too, need to extend our circle.

The article in its entirety can be viewed here: Love that Heals | Today’s Christian Woman.

Leave a Reply

