Kyria Blog: Are We Getting Worship Wrong?

5 Oct

Are We Getting Worship Wrong?

And how can we get it at least a little bit right?

worship.jpg

One church I attended for a few years was really, really into the song, “The Heart of Worship” by Matt Redman. Don’t get me wrong—I think it’s a fantastic song. But it began to bother me when we seemed to sing it nearly every Sunday. The song’s lyrics candidly and confessionally speak about how we humans can so easily get worship wrong: it can inadvertently become something about us rather than being focused on God.

Week after week all the congregants in my little church passionately sang about worship, saying, “I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it.” There were definitely times when singing these lyrics was an honest confession for me; I do struggle sometimes with turning times of corporate worship into self-focused experiences. But singing “I’m sorry” week in and week out rubbed me the wrong way. Are we really getting worship “wrong” all the time? I wondered. Do we really need to keep apologizing over and over? Aren’t we getting it at least a little bit right?

Click here to read the full article.

One Response to “Kyria Blog: Are We Getting Worship Wrong?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WORSHIP IS SACRIFICAL | bummyla - November 5, 2011

    […] Kyria Blog: Are We Getting Worship Wrong? (connecttowommin.wordpress.com) Share this:ShareEmailPrintDiggLinkedInRedditStumbleUponFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

