LifeWay Women All Access — 5 Ways to Cut the Noise Out of Your Life

26 Jul

rest“May my meditation be pleasing to him, as I rejoice in the LORD –Psalm 104:34

Connect with God on the inside by disconnecting from noisy distractions on the outside. Spending quiet time with the Lord in intimate fellowship enables His voice to be heard more clearly; focusing our undivided attention and growing our relationship with Him.

“Don’t pray when you feel like it. Have an appointment with the Lord and keep it.” –Corrie Ten Boom

5 Ways to Cut the Noise Out of Your Life

By Mary Margaret Collingsworth

Does your life ever feel noisy? Mine sure does. My phone is constantly making crazy noises, I listen to music in my car and at my desk, I turn the TV on when I get home, and I can often be found talking to myself when I’m alone (true confessions are good for the soul, right?). Maybe you don’t have that much actual noise in your life, but the fact of the matter is, there’s a lot of noise in our lives. Maybe it’s your kids, your calendar, your husband, or the little voice inside your head that continues to tell you that you don’t quite measure up. It looks a little bit different for each of us, but most of us have nearly constant noise in our daily lives.

Over the 4th of July, I spent the weekend in a cabin in North Carolina with some of my family. There was no cell phone reception, no Internet, and no TV. For the first few hours, it’s like I had no clue what to do. I went on several walks, fished (and caught 3 trout!), finished a puzzle with my cousin, and read a whole book.

It was SO refreshing.

I can’t help but look back on those few days and see how the Lord spoke so clearly to my heart in the solitude. As I was praying through a few things, the Lord brought to mind so many scriptures that were relevant, and I could hear them because I stopped talking, and I wasn’t distracted by all of the noise. I could hear God’s voice so much more clearly because there was nothing to compete with.

“One reason we can hardly bear to remain silent is that it makes us feel so helpless. We are so accustomed to relying on words to manage and control others. If we are silent, who will take control? God will take control, but we will never let him take control until we trust him. Silence is intimately related to trust.” -Richard Foster, The Celebration of Discipline.

Silence and solitude are two things that we just don’t get a lot of in our day and age. Our lives are constantly busy, and even when we sit down and read the Bible, we’re easily interrupted or distracted. We lack the margin in our lives that we so desperately need. Scripture tells us that silence and solitude are a critical part of spiritual disciplines that we should be engaging in on a regular basis. Jesus even modeled it for us on many occasions when he went away by himself to pray (Luke 5:15-16; Matthew 14:23; Mark 14:32-42).

Here are five ways to cut the noise out of your life…

The remaining article can be viewed here: LifeWay Women All Access — 5 Ways to Cut the Noise Out of Your Life.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

