— Resting in Truth

5 Jun

rest“Praise the Lord, all nations! Extol him, all peoples! For great is his steadfast love toward us, and the faithfulness of the LORD endures forever. Praise the LORD!” Psalm 117:1-2

It can be difficult for us to wrap our minds around the scope of love, mercy, and faithfulness that comprise the immutable nature of God when our own nature is often fickle and noncommittal. Mistakes and struggles with sin can obscure our ability to truly hear the Word leaving us feeling spiritually deserted. It may be tempting during these dry times to abandon the Bible altogether when meditation on scripture and a refilling of the Holy Spirit is exactly what is needed to satisfy our thirsty soul. D. L. Moody (a noted evangelist), when asked why we needed a refilling of the Holy Spirit, reportedly replied, “Because I leak.” He also said, “The only way to keep a broken vessel full is to keep it under the faucet.” Keep yourself immersed in the Word, in prayer, in the hope of the cross and as the following article reminds, “rest in the Truth.”

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth” 3 John 1:4

Resting in Truth

She sits on the edge of the crowd. The trials she has overcome, the difficulties combated, sketched across her face. The women have been talking all around her. Just as the conversation seems to be coming to a close, she speaks.

Weak. Barely above a whisper.  She says, “I’ve learned that despite the way I feel, His love never changes.”

When the conversation ends, I want to run over and hug her. Oh, have I have ever been there?! I want her to know she is not alone and that I am proud of the strength and dignity she has displayed. That was not an easy task making herself known among these women, deeply; only to be swept aside moments later.

There are days when I, too, feel as if all hope is gone. I must speak truth into my own heart. He does not change like my crazy emotions; one day they are steady and sure and the next they are tossed to and fro by the wind. But, how can I do that if I don’t know who He is?

I need truth. I need hope. I need life…

The remainder of the article can be viewed here: LifeWay Women All Access — Resting in Truth.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

